7 replies to this topic

#1 DPRoberts

DPRoberts

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,610 posts

Posted 25 October 2018 - 11:37 PM

Just wanted to share a workflow on procedurally painting a bunker mesh. This is a modification of the original technique spearheaded by Dr. Rob on the Glen. I could never handle the Unity lag in hand painting with Splat Painter. After watching a few videos on Substance Painter, I realized I might have a shot to create a bunker texture that could do all the painting for me.

Well....it's not exactly that easy but I can do it in under 5 minutes per bunker when I'm not flapping my gums at the same time. I know this isn't for everyone. Experimenting with a project is my way to learn new computer programs. I love the Substance programs (Painter and Designer) and am using a Teacher's license as I am a part-time Resident Faculty at a local hospital.

My result is a bit clunky but the base texture is infinitely modifiable and will likely improve as my knowledge base improves. I am just trying to give someone out there an idea and see what they can do with it.

asC6B35.jpg

XBEgjOT.jpg

You will need Unity, Course Forge, Blender, Photoshop and Substance Painter if you want to follow along. Obviously, other variants of those programs such as 3DSMax, Maya, GIMP will work as well. Just different keystrokes.

This really needed to be like 60 minutes but I know you guys don't have the attention span for that...

If anyone actually attempts this method, here is the bunker material I created that I'm using in Substance Painter, you have to follow the video where I change out all the Fill Masks for your specific bunker or it won't look correct.
https://www.dropbox....unker.spsm?dl=0

• Mike Jones, highfade, bortimus and 3 others like this

#2 highfade

highfade

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,749 posts
  • LocationSouth Africa

Posted 26 October 2018 - 06:48 AM