#1 Ted_Ball

Ted_Ball

RTS-H Pro

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 2,599 posts
  • LocationWest End, Brisbane, QLD, Australia

Posted 06 May 2024 - 06:55 AM

EA Sports PGA Tour has been released to Game Pass on Xbox so I thought I would have another look. 

I played the free trial when it came out but wasn't impressed sufficiently enough to buy the game.

I started playing the Career mode trying to get interested but my dude with default skills struggled with pitching and wasn't going to make the cut so I John Daly-ed and walked off. 

I thought I'd play a round at Augusta as Jack and because he was driving 300 yards I started to get excited. I went back to Career with my 'me' dude and, having worked out how to pitch and set aiming points and distances, I got right into it.

To be honest, I have it set up 'Normal' and with assisted aim putting and 60% scoring which meant I could make it to the Korn Ferry easily enough. It was only after two or three tourneys that I found the 'Skills' page so I can drive long.

What I want to say is that I'm liking the mechanics of the swing even though I'm not experienced with the thumb stick and the aiming system was realistic in a way. It's forgiving of course but I found that there was just enough natural variation to make it a bit difficult and resulting scoring was realistic enough. Missing greens was quite normal (even with light winds) and annoyances and frustrations made the experience realistic as well.