22 replies to this topic

#1 Buck

Buck

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 7,532 posts

Posted 29 April 2016 - 05:32 AM

I'm not a course designer and have no access to CF anyhow, but I wanted to inquire with the experts in here about the bunker edges...

Is there anything that can be done to give them a more realistic look?

Some variation in width, coloration, height above the adjacent sand as appropriate, etc?

Does anyone know what I mean?

The current edges really seem to have the appearance of just being a vector shape + a texture that's expanded slightly beyond the size/shape of the sand element (or vice versa)

Thank you for anything that will help me gain some clarity here!

#2 IanD

IanD

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 3,371 posts

Posted 29 April 2016 - 06:58 AM

There are variables that can be used surrounding the edges of most shapes. You may have seen K11's edging of some fairways a few weeks back.... those can apply to anything created. You can make a path using the CF, within the fairway and have it run along the fairway, and edge it like a kerb on a pavement. How it appears visually.. well that is the variable all the Designers are trying to create.

There is a seam blend too, and that distance is variable...so the larger the blend, the more other things are reduced. There is likely improvements to be had over time in this area though... pot bunkers etc, and this would seriously change some of the concepts regarding lips.

#3 IanK

IanK

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 2,589 posts

Posted 29 April 2016 - 07:13 AM

Personally I think the bunker lips look very good.
Steam Name: n.bonaparte
WWG1WGA

#4 Kablammo11

Kablammo11

Obscure Person

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 3,953 posts

Posted 29 April 2016 - 08:29 AM

The fact remains, even with all the variables fine-tuned, that the bunker edges ALWAYS and UNIFORMLY apply to a bunker: They are of the same depth, slope and blend 360 degrees around a bunker.