#1 M Rose

M Rose

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,918 posts
  • LocationMelbourne, Australia

Posted 07 March 2018 - 11:42 PM

The original release had a few lingering issues that never really got resolved.... it's always been my intention to improve it as it was one of the earliest courses I did and I feel like I'm a much better designer now than I was two years ago. I've also made some cosmetic changes to the textures and planting. The original was done in an older Unity and didn't take advantage of pot bunkers; there's a few of those scattered about the course now. I've also got the custom flag.

One of the main issues was with the hazard lines; in a lot of cases they were drawn too close to the water, leaving players with some extreme sidehill stances following their drops. I've made an effort to move a lot of the hazard lines further up these slopes as well as softening many of them overall.

I thought some of Pete Dye's new back tees added in the last 10 years have made the course almost too long... nobody in PG is hitting it in Dustin Johnson range yet. I actually have taken some artistic license and moved the back markers up one tee on #16 and a little bit forward on #11 as I felt these holes were just brutally long and maybe not quite as strategic as they would be if they were 10-20 yards shorter. Same with #9, which I believe has always supposed to have been driveable in certain conditions but from the 361 yard tee it's pretty impossible in this game.

I know this course has been used in a lot of tournament play and it has been frustrating for a lot of people, so I felt like I could probably make it a much better course than it was. I've decided to beta test this new version for a little while just to make sure there aren't any further problems before putting it back out there. So I'm gonna put it in beta for a week or so.